A tourist experience between land and ocean

Much more than a tourist attraction, the discovery of the Gironde Estuary is an immersive adventure where nature, history and conviviality come together!

Observable from space, the Gironde Estuary is the largest in Europe. Its unique geography, characterized by the tumultuous meeting of the Dordogne and the Garonne, is marked by an archipelago shaped over the centuries and by constantly evolving sandbanks. On the water, from land, in sports mode or in relaxation mode, for fishing lovers or history buffs, the Gironde Estuary can be discovered by everyone, throughout the year.

Patiras Island

Unforgettable memories and a unique tranquility.

An archipelago in the heart of the Estuary

A living landscape with changing geography, the Gironde Estuary hosts an archipelago made up of 8 islands and islets.

These sandbanks, which over the centuries come together, move away, emerge from the waters or are swallowed up by them, are the guardians of a rich cultural, historical and natural heritage!

Formerly inhabited and covered with vines, these small pieces of land isolated from the continent by water have notably made it possible to preserve some precious grape varieties by resisting the ravages of phylloxera in the 19th century.

Not accessible but easily observable from the bin or whens cruises, le Fort Paté bears witness, with the citadel of Blaye and Fort Médoc, the history of the Estuary and its strategic role in the military defense of the kingdom of Louis XIV. 

At the heart of this archipelago, New Island Classified as Natura 2000, it stands out as a first-rate ornithological reserve. Visitors can immerse themselves in this preserved oasis through guided tours that highlight the rich local flora and fauna.

The island of Patiras, a 100% unusual experience

It's certain the island of Patiras let's meet you! By boat, from Blaye, you will disembark on the island at 11 a.m. for a return to the foot of the Blaye citadel at 17 p.m. In this atypical place, set in the middle of the waters, you will spend a quiet, timeless day, where the singing of birds and the lapping of the water will be your only playlist.

On the island of Patiras, you eat well…

Impossible to let you discover this little piece of land without letting you taste the best local products. Every weekend from mid-April to mid-October for individuals, and all year round for groups, the Fingertip Meals are organized by the Patiras Refuge, on the public plot of the island! Here, no lunch at the table. Here and there we enjoy healthy and delicious cuisine made from local and seasonal products, inspired by the Estuary.

…and we walk there!

After lunch, we take the pleasure of climbing to the top of the lighthouse to admire the landscape before us. Another unmissable spot, the entirely glass refuge will allow you to admire a 360° panorama of the Estuary!

Patiras Refuge

Phone: 07 49 58 63 63

Email: contact@refugedepatiras.com

Cruise from April 12 to October 13, 2024, Thursday to Sunday.

82€ adult. 45€ child.

Book


Cruises and discoveries of the estuary

12 result(s) out of 12
Show Map
Refine the search
Cultural activity

Cruise on the Gironde Estuary and lunch on Patiras Island

Cultural activity

Aperitif cruise on the Gironde Estuary

See the route
Easy level

Scenic Corniche Road

Le 07 July 2024

Sunday cruise on the estuary

Le 14 July 2024

Bastille Day Cruises

Le 10 July 2024

Sea kayaking trip on the Estuary

Le 15 August 2024

The Night of the Squares

Le 23 July 2024

Discovery of the New Island

05 April 28 July 2024

Estuarine encounters

Le 28 April 2024

Open days on Ile Nouvelle

Le 11 May 2024

River trip for the Côtes de Bourg Open Days

Reduce map
Hide

To discover the Estuary on the water…

If the Fingertip Meals of the Island of Patiras have made your mouth water, you will certainly be tempted by aperitif cruises which offer a friendly way to discover the charms of the Estuary!

Kayak from St Ciers sru Gironde

On the other hand, if you are thirsty for adventure and thrills, it is for sure a kayak or aboard a sailing boat you will find what you are looking for! A whole range of water activities are offered to you all year round on the Estuary. The hardest part may be knowing where to start.

Last but not least… How can we not also mention the art of fishing when we know that around a hundred professional fishermen and no less than 3000 amateur fishermen share this same passion? The squares, small fishing huts emblematic of the destination, dot the banks of the Estuary and are the ideal place to practice this sport. Notice to interested beginners or experts: we practice “chance” fishing here where we cannot know or decide in advance which fish we will catch. It’s the Estuary that decides for us!


And from the shore?

For those who don't have their sea legs, no problem! The Estuary can also be discovered from the mainland, by taking the Cornich roade. This emblematic route of the Blaye Bourg Terres d'Estuaire destination guides you sometimes to the foot of the cliffs, sometimes to their summit, and offers you all year round breathtaking panoramas !

The region's economic activity is also driven by river tourism. No less than five weekly thematic cruises travel the waters of the Estuary while highlighting the region's great classified growths. From March to November, these cruises bring together visitors from all over the world, attracted among other things by the citadel and the Bordeaux vineyards.

Was this content useful to you?

Une expérience touristique entre terre et océan

Bien plus qu’une attraction touristique, la découverte de l’Estuaire de la Gironde est une aventure immersive où la nature, l’histoire et la convivialité se rejoignent !

Observable depuis l’espace, l’Estuaire de la Gironde est le plus vaste d’Europe. Sa géographie unique, caractérisée par la rencontre tumultueuse de la Dordogne et de la Garonne, est marquée par un archipel façonné au fil des siècles et par les bancs de sable en constante évolution. Sur l’eau, depuis la terre, en mode sportif ou en mode détente, pour les amoureux de la pêche ou les férus d’histoire, l’Estuaire de la Gironde se laisse découvrir par toutes et tous, tout au long de l’année.

Ile Patiras

Des souvenirs inoubliables et une quiétude singulière.

Un archipel au cœur de l’Estuaire

Paysage vivant et à la géographie changeante, l’Estuaire de la Gironde accueille un archipel composé de 8 îles et îlots.

Ces bancs de sable, qui au fil des siècles se rejoignent, s’éloignent, sortent des eaux ou sont engloutis par elles, sont les gardiens d’un patrimoine culturel, historique et naturel riche !

Autrefois habités et parcourus de vignes, ces petits bouts de terre isolés du continent par les eaux ont notamment permis de conserver quelques précieux cépages en résistant aux ravages du phylloxéra au XIXe siècle.

Non accessible mais facilement observable depuis le bac ou lors des croisières, le Fort Paté témoigne, avec la citadelle de Blaye et le Fort Médoc, de l’histoire de l’Estuaire et de son rôle stratégique dans la défense militaire du royaume de Louis XIV. 

Au cœur de cet archipel, l’Île Nouvelle classée Natura 2000 se distingue, elle, comme une réserve ornithologique de premier ordre. Les visiteurs peuvent s’immerger dans cet oasis préservé grâce à des visites guidées qui mettent en lumière la richesse de la faune et de la flore locales.

L’île de Patiras, une expérience 100% insolite

C’est sur l’île de Patiras que l’on vous donne rendez-vous ! Par bateau, depuis Blaye, vous serez débarqués sur l’île à 11h pour un retour au pied de la citadelle de Blaye à 17h. Dans cet endroit atypique, déposé au milieu des eaux, vous passerez une journée tranquille, hors du temps, où le chant des oiseaux et le clapotis de l’eau seront votre seule playlist.

Sur l’île de Patiras, on y mange bien…

Impossible de vous laisser découvrir ce petit bout de terre sans vous faire goûter aux meilleurs produits du terroir. Tous les week-end de mi-avril à mi-octobre pour les particuliers, et toute l’année pour les groupes, les Repas du bout des doigts sont organisés par le Refuge de Patiras, sur la parcelle publique de l’île ! Ici, pas de déjeuner à table. On picore ça et là une cuisine saine et gourmande élaborée à partir de produits locaux et de saison, inspirés par l’Estuaire.

… et on s’y balade !

Après le déjeuner, on profite avec plaisir de grimper tout en haut du phare pour admirer le paysage qui s’offre à nous. Autre spot incontournable, le refuge entièrement vitré vous permettra d’admirer un panorama à 360° sur l’Estuaire !

Refuge de Patiras

Téléphone : 07 49 58 63 63

Mail : contact@refugedepatiras.com

Croisière du 12 avril au 13 octobre 2024, du jeudi au dimanche.

82€ adulte. 45€ enfant.

Réserver


Croisières et découvertes de l’estuaire

11 résultat(s) sur 11
Afficher la carte
Affinez la recherche
Activité culturelle

Croisière apéro sur l’Estuaire de la Gironde

Voir le tracé
Niveau facile

Route pittoresque de la Corniche

Le 07 juillet 2024

Croisière du dimanche sur l’estuaire

Le 14 juillet 2024

Croisières du 14 juillet

Le 10 juillet 2024

Sortie en kayak de mer sur l’Estuaire

Le 15 août 2024

La Nuit des Carrelets

Le 23 juillet 2024

Découverte de l’Ile Nouvelle

05 avril 28 juillet 2024

Les rencontres estuariennes

Le 28 avril 2024

Portes ouvertes sur l’île Nouvelle

Réduire la carte
Masquer

Pour découvrir l’Estuaire sur l’eau…

Si les Repas du bout des doigts de l’île de Patiras vous ont mis l’eau à la bouche, vous serez très certainement tentés par les croisières apéritives qui offrent une manière conviviale de découvrir les charmes de l’Estuaire !

Kayak depuis St Ciers sru Gironde

En revanche, si vous avez soif d’aventure et de sensations, c’est sur un kayak ou à bord d’un bateau à voile que vous trouverez votre bonheur ! Toute une gamme d’activités nautiques vous est proposée toute l’année sur l’Estuaire. Le plus difficile sera peut-être de savoir par quoi commencer.

Last but not least… Comment ne pas évoquer aussi l’art de la pêche quand on sait qu’une centaine de pêcheurs professionnels et pas moins de 3000 pêcheurs amateurs partagent cette même passion ? Les carrelets, petites cabanes de pêche emblématiques de la destination, parsèment les rives de l’Estuaire et sont l’endroit idéal pour pratiquer ce sport. Avis aux intéressés débutants ou experts : on pratique ici une pêche “de hasard” où l’on ne peut savoir ou décider à l’avance les poissons que l’on attrapera. C’est l’Estuaire qui décide pour nous !


Et depuis la rive ?

Pour ceux qui n’auraient pas le pied marin, pas de problème ! L’Estuaire se découvre aussi depuis la terre ferme, en empruntant la route de la Corniche. Cet itinéraire emblématique de la destination Blaye Bourg Terres d’Estuaire vous guide tantôt au pied des falaises, tantôt à leur sommet, et vous offre toute l’année des panoramas à couper le souffle !

L’activité économique de la région est également portée par le tourisme fluvial. Pas moins de cinq croisières thématiques hebdomadaires parcourent les eaux de l’Estuaire tout en mettant en avant les grands crus classés de la région. De mars à novembre, ces croisières rassemblent des visiteurs du monde entier, attirés entre autres par la citadelle et le vignoble bordelais.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?